Viktor Ambartsumian International Prize
Steering Committee

The International Steering Committee consists of 9 members that accepts nominations, sends them for peer review, discusses and decides the winners. The Steering Committee is being renewed by 1/3 once per every 2 years according to the By-Laws rotation policy.


President of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) of Armenia, Academician and Member of the Presidium of NAS RA, Doctor of Sciences, Professor

Research fields: Quantum electronics, applied problems of Superconductivity, Space research, Radio astronomy, Radio physics research methods of remote sensing of Earth

Affiliation: Institute of Radiophysics and Electronics (IRPhE), NAS RA

Address: 24, Marshal Baghramian Ave. Yerevan, 0019, Republic of Armenia
Phone: +374 10 527031
Personal webpage

Prof. Catherine CESARSKY

Past President of the International Astronomical Union (IAU), Professor of Astrophysics, Former Director General of ESO

Research fields: Space and high energy astrophysics, structure and dynamics of the Galactic system, interstellar matter

Affiliation: CEA-Saclay, DSM / IRFU, Service d'Astrophysique

Address: L'Orme des Merisiers Bat 709 FR 91191 Gif-sur-Yvette Cedex, France
Phone: +33 1 69 08 82 35
Personal webpage


Doctor of Science, academician of Russian Academy of Science, director of the Sternberg Astronomical Institute of M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University, member of the Editorial Board of Astrofizika

Research fields: Stellar physics, close binary stars, inverse problems of astrophysics, galactic nuclei, observational appearances of black holes and neutron stars

Affiliation: M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University (MSU), Sternberg Astronomical Institute (SAI)

Address: Universitetskij prospect 13, 119992, Moscow, Russia
Phone: +7 495 939 2858
Personal webpage

Prof. Norio KAIFU

Past President of the International Astronomical Union (IAU), former Director General of the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan, Professor

Research fields: Radio astronomy, non-stable stars, extragalactic astronomy, cosmic magnetic fields, IR astronomy

Affiliation: National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (NAOJ)

Address: 2-21-1 Osawa, Mitaka-shi, Tokyo 181-8588, Japan
Phone: +81-42-675 5150
Personal webpage

Prof. Michel MAYOR

Emeritus Professor of Astronomy, PI of the High Accuracy Radial velocity Planetary Search (HARPS) project, Member, European Academy of Sciences

Research fields: Galactic structure and kinematics, Globular cluster dynamics, the statistical properties of binary stars, Extrasolar planets

Affiliation: Observatory and University of Geneva, Switzerland

Address: Observatoire de Genève, 51 chemin des Maillettes, CH 1290 Sauverny, Switzerland
Phone: +41-22-3792200
Personal webpage


Professor of Applied Physics, Chairman of Astronomy Program at the Stanford University, Foreign Member of NAS RA

Research fields: high energy astrophysics, galaxies and cosmology, gamma-ray bursts, evolution of blazars and quasars, particle acceleration

Affiliation: Stanford University, Center for Space Science & Astrophysics

Address: 382 Via Pueblo Mall, Stanford CA 94305-4060, U.S.A.
Phone: +1-650-7231435
Personal webpage

Prof. Brian SCHMIDT

Distinguished Professor at The Australian National University's Mount Stromlo Observatory, 2011 Nobel Prize Winner, Australian National University, Mount Stromlo Observatory, Canberra, Australia

Research fields: Observational Cosmology, Studies of Supernovae, Gamma Ray Bursts, Large Surveys, Photometry and Calibration

Affiliation: The Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics, The Australian National University

Address: Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics, ANU RSAA, Mount Stromlo Observatory, Cotter Rd, Weston Creek, Canberra ACT 2611, Australia
Phone: +61 2 6125 8042
Personal webpage

Prof. Joseph SILK

Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Head of Astrophysics, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Research fields: Theoretical Cosmology, Dark Matter, Galaxy Formation and Cosmic Microwave Background

Affiliation: Institut d'astrophysique de Paris, University of Oxford, University of California, Berkeley and Johns Hopkins University

Address: University of Oxford, Astrophysics Dept, Denys Wilkinson Bldg, 1 Keble Rd, Oxford OX1 3RH, United Kingdom
Phone: +44 186 527 3300
Personal webpage

Prof. Yervant TERZIAN

Professor of Physical Sciences, Director of NASA’s NY State Space Grant Program, Chairman of US Consortium on SKA and of ANSEF Research Council, Foreign Member of NAS RA, Co-President of ArAS

Research fields: Physics of the interstellar medium, planetary nebulae, galaxies, radio astronomy

Affiliation: Cornell University, Astronomy Department

Address: 530 Space Sciences Bldg US Ithaca NY 14853-6801, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 607 255 4935
Personal webpage

Dr. Areg Mickaelian (Armenia), Scientific Secretary of the Steering Committee, 2009-presently

Viktor Ambartsumian International Prize Steering Committee Past Members