Viktor Ambartsumian Prize 2012 Winners

Prof. Jaan Einasto
(Tartu Observatory, Estonia)

Prof. Igor Novikov
(Astro-Space Center, P.N. Lebedev Physics Institute, Russia)

for his fundamental contributions to the discovery of dark matter and the cosmic web

nominated by the Tartu Observatory, Estonia

for his pioneering formulation how to confirm observationally that our Universe started as a hot Universe, and for proposing the method for determination of quasar masses

nominated by the Institute of Theoretical Physics and Astronomy of Vilnius University, Lithuania

  2012 Prize Winners
  Description of the Work
  Official Press Release
  Award Ceremony